Because of her

I’ve never seen the moon and stars perform this
Beautifully in my presence,
How they render delight to my flesh and soul unlike
Anytime before,
Laying awake for this long is not my first,
So I can’t deny that the tunes I hear are solely
Because of her.

I’d tell her in my own voice but could I dare?
Could I face the chance of imminent despair
And overcome the challenge she poses to my knees?
Could I trust my heart not to freeze
When I convey my love as her being the one I’m here to save?
Could I be so brave?

I can tell my legs are crumbling and I’m barely halfway
Through the thought of my confession,

The joy, how this moment could be perfectly flawless if I were
to have her here with me;
Drown in my favourite set of eyes
As I’m being subdued by her smile,
If only for a little while.

I can’t seem to draw my eyes away from the performance
Tonight that is inspired by her,
So if I happen to still lay awake when the next sun arises and
The comfort of my shadow has been robbed from me,
Know that it’s all because of her.
© Ami Fidèle

Moonrise

16 thoughts on “Because of her

  1. Nikashblogs says:

    Hey! I love your blog! It’s really inspiring & creative! I would love to hear what you think about my poems? It would be great to hear your opinion! http://nikashblogs.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/news-poems-and-new-extract-youthful-identity/ Thanks 🙂

  2. tsena says:

    love and stars, so grand…the first line is captivating, keep going with that gorgeous imagery…

    http://succumbing.wordpress.com/

  3. sandaion says:

    What a lovely blog! Will enjoy reading it. Thank you also for reading mine.

  4. …because of her…how romantic! 🙂

  5. Beautiful. Really evocative.

  6. Nectarfizz says:

    Could I face the chance of imminent despair
    And overcome the challenge she poses to my knees?<—brilliant use of imagery.

  7. Queridaj says:

    “I can tell my legs are crumbling and I’m barely halfway
    Through the thought of my confession” <– great image! the depth of emotion is so inspiring =)

    "The comfort of my shadow has been robbed from me,"
    – how eloquent, how true!

    Was a pleasure to read your poem =)

  8. ...... says:

    This is beautiful fidele! Ive read every poem now and im amazed at ur talent. see u tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

