The Emancipation

Entrenched in a static
dismay of memories
of what used to be,
struggling to reattach
each falling petal
to an over aged and
and withering rose
with my decaying
strength.

The petals are getting
heavier and heavier
and I’m no longer certain
whether or not I’m truly
here by choice,

I too believed in the endless
worth of the eternal smile,
willing to fend off anything
and everything in shielding
my beloved flower,
but from where did this
lovely chain around
my neck come?

There’s no pleasure in
making love to a memory,
stay here and watch
the rose die,
set me free because I wish
to claim once more that I,

I am alive.

Emancipation

7 thoughts on “The Emancipation

  1. MarinaSofia says:

    Goodness, how sad and emotional that was! Autumn and the slow dying of nature must be getting to all of us. Glad to see you writing again – missed you over the summer!

  2. atirahjewel says:

    I must say Ami, your poems should have the same required reading status as the works of Shakespeare. Your soul is truly not made for this time, but we are blessed to have you. I have not read such beautiful poetry until I found your blog. Words such as beautiful and amazing seem too trite a thing to say about this works. I am looking forward to reading more from you. Sorry for ranting. ;P

  3. QueridaJ says:

    Ami, I could not expect less beauty from you work…So good to read you again =) Your lines are so filled with such deep and passionate emotion!

  4. deep love…the struggle…the question of commitment…the intensity of it all is felt!

Leave a Reply

