Apology

I generally render in fear due
to my affection for you,
you exude strength and passion
in your pursuit of my tears
heedless to my fleeting years.

You were one to walk on spring
with petals to your feet
you’d offer love to abandoned eyes
but all I gave was solitude
to your heart,
for such crime there’s no place
for me in heaven.

I’m mindful of your intent
with your presence,
but ending my smile
won’t restore yours,
my tears won’t heal
your frail soul
and the pain won’t stop purely
because my heart does.

But if it’s that important for you
to see me crawl,
if this really is the colour your love
has turned into
then I’ll be your canvas,
paint on me.

Suffering by Angelina Benson

4 thoughts on “Apology

  1. belladonna23 says:

    such strong words… “if this really is the colour your love/ has turned into/ then I’ll be your canvas,/ paint on me.” Thank you for sharing. I enjoyed this very much

  2. atirahjewel says:

    Finally a poem from you Mr. Fidèle! My heart leaped for joy when I saw your blog’s title in my e-mail notifications and I, of course, was not disappointed. Beautiful words and such emotion evoked from them, this has to be one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

