First Love (part 8)

I can’t sleep,
I’m unable to settle
my mind around
the words used
for the love letter
to her, so far it reads:

“It’s not by mere
infatuation that I
struggle to perfect
every sentence I say…
it’s more.
I’m breathless
in your absence and
your presence,
a simple thought
causes frailty…
it’s more.
I’m certain that if
I open my window
you’ll answer
my call
and if I stumble
you’ll laugh at
my fall…
its more.”

I’ll try ‘til twilight
and then leave
so I can be present
in her morning.

IMG_1551

6 thoughts on “First Love (part 8)

  1. eunoia16 says:

    It’s not by mere
    infatuation that I
    struggle to perfect
    every sentence I say

    sweeeet!

  2. RL King says:

    I’m totally behind in reading. Just thought I’d visit and see what your words are up to…and as always. Lovely vulnerable words Ami. And the shots just add the perfect romance.

  3. atirahjewel says:

    I’m breathless
    in your absence and
    your presence,
    a simple thought
    causes frailty…

    A feeling most who have ever fallen in love can relate to. Love this poem.

Leave a Reply

