First Love (Part 19)

She believed her return
would save me, as did I
and yet I find myself
lifting a wounded soul,
I never wanted this.

I’m soaked in her tears
as I’m forced to ponder
my fears;
Will she nourish me smile
or consume it?
Will she tarnish me
to bloom anew?
Do I sacrifice my candle
to live a memory?

I ask her to close her eyes
and surprise her with
a new light,
I give her a barely mended
heart for a promise
she’ll break,
I can’t deny who I am.

I’m her soil and here comes
the rain.

forgiving-the-unforgiveable

Leave a Reply

