First Love (Part 1)

I was pleasantly insulted by her smile
at first,
feeling that the moment of my own
I had managed to find was disturbed,
intruded by a stranger
I should’ve known was the guest
I was always waiting for.

I noticed her face
and started feeling like the child
she was seeing within me,
she read my expression in silence,
stared at me in my paralysed state
and finally cast her spell on me
with a sweet chuckle.

I understood how childlike
I was as heard her say, “yes”
before I posed the question.
This was the true beginning
of spring.

The Couple Birds

(Hello. I’m going to try that National Poetry Write Month thing by posting one poem every day starting today, I assure you that I will fail…gravely. How I fail though is still unknown, I’m not sure whether I’ll end compromising the little quality that my writing has or if I’ll just skip a few days so it’ll be a surprise for all of us. As for the reason why I’ll fail; the primary ones are the project I’m currently working on for my bachelor’s degree in biotechnology and the exams in philosophy, for those who don’t know last summer I had the brilliant idea that I’d pursue a degree in philosophy without taking a break from my biotechnology studies…stupid idea but so far I seem to have survived with satisfying grades and who knew that Kantian ethics was so complex?! Dear god. Anyway, the secondary reason is my guitar. Three weeks ago, after having the guitar for a year and a half, I finally decided to learn how to play and it sure is fun. I’m a novice using a guitar with steel strings so my fingers hurt like hell whenever I play more than one hour straight but I’m in love with the sound she makes and can’t help but feel that she likes me too. Well then, it’s a bit late but Happy Easter and not to be mean towards anyone but I kind of hope that I’m not the only one that fails this challenge of one poem a day.

Love

Ami Fidèle :))

9 thoughts on “First Love (Part 1)

  1. this took my breath away… “I noticed her face
    and started feeling like the child
    she was seeing within me”…the pure love…how beautiful!

    good luck with the challenge of writing a poem a day…I missed that –the National Poetry Write Month–you have inspired me to do the same! Let us encourage each other! Blessings!

  2. love this too…couldn’t resist commenting again:
    “I understood how childlike
    I was as heard her say, “yes”
    before I posed the question.
    This was the true beginning
    of spring.”
    a truly intimate connection with the lover and loved…oh my goodness…so sweet and lovely! Everything you have written in this stanza is perfect!
    I am sharing this on my FB page!

  3. Gorgeous poem! I am sure you wll rise to the poetic challenge with great style. 🙂 And philosophy/Kant? I remember studying that years ago and wrestling with Kant because I really didn’t want to agree with him but his logic was so fine, in the end I had to, LOL! 🙂

  4. atirahjewel says:

    Wow, you amaze me once again Ami. I’m glad to see I should expect more from you this month ^^ Good luck with your studies and good luck with NaPoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

