First Love (Part 3)

The sunset arrived much
earlier than I wanted it to,
still I do admire the various
rays of light taking turn
in caressing her rosy skin.

It’s strange that I somehow
feel lonely in her presence.
In room with a thousand faces
all is a blur but hers
and hers is the one
making me question whether
my heart is still beating
and all resulting in this
chimp-like smile
rendering me speechless.

I take another drink to calm
my nerves but nothing
compares to this soothing
rising from the warmth
in my hand I now realise
is being held in hers…
I no longer feel lonely.

 

Close Encounter by Natalie Holland

Leave a Reply

